Skip to content
February 5, 2010 / lotcchicago

Rocking the Lobster by Alyse Kittner

This has nothing to do with SFAFG and only a little to do with rock lobsters. And, you will have to suffer through a brief history of my childhood.

My sister and I had the same babysitter from when I was 2 – 15. (Yes, I had a babysitter when I was 15 – I needed someone to drive me around.) Everyday of every summer we would pack up our swimsuits, towels, tennis rackets, a cooler of food and head to the local YMCA. Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings we had swimming class, Tuesday and Thursday mornings we had diving. And, during the hot, hot, hottest part of the day (1-3pm) on Tuesdays and Thursdays we had tennis league.

Teresa (our babysitter – better known as Tre) was super cool. She was 16 and got to drive my mom’s car. Because she was super cool – she had awesome music.  That is where the rock lobsters come in.

It is about a 15 minute drive from our house to the Y. Exactly enough time to listen to Big Butts by Sir Mix-A-Lot and Rock Lobster by the B52s. Now, I have no idea why we picked those two songs, but they were on Tre’s mix tape.

Picture it: the Westside of Cincinnati, 9:45am, 73 degrees outside, and a car with a 9 year-old, 11 year-old and our fearless leader Tre screaming the lyrics to Big Butts and Rock Lobster. The stereo on the Toyota Camry is cranked up as loud as it can go and all of us are singing along: <high pitched> “Rock Lobster!!!” or <low pitched> ”Doing workouts like Jane Fonda”.

So, my performance in SFAFG is dedicated to my former babysitter – Tre. For introducing me to the world of Rock Lobsters, teaching me how to make rice crispy treats, and covering up for me when I was in high school and threw a party while my mom was out of town.

Tre – you rock.

Leave a Reply

