Skip to content
October 19, 2009 / lotcchicago

Joe Dickinson discusses Moosehumps

I had just returned from a long and lanky vacation, a droop and dreary drudge into the past that left me feeling like a bag of mixed peanuts.

Dropping the whole shebang, I started back to school.  I was just taking off my skirt post-class when I noticed a missed call from a friend:  Haily Wineland to be exact.  (Yes, THE Haily Wineland.)  I giggled expectantly and called her back.

She answered and we chatted for a bit.  Then came the bombshell: she wanted to know if I would be interested in performing with Lights Out Theatre Company.  I said “SAY WHAT?!?!?” and flashed in my mind to watching “One Night Stand” twice, and thinking “whoa now, these folks are good”.  Not that I have a depressed sense of self-confidence, but good gracious, these folks are theatre professionals, how could I possibly come in and even hope to be on par?

But Haily, warm eagle-mother that she is, cooed and cajoled my confidence.  She said that it was to be a night of fun, and that I was the man for the part.

That part?  SAD DRACULA

(Thunder crashes…and lightning.)

The play?  MOOSEHUMPS

I giggled and guffawed at the greatness of it all.  Certainly I would play the part, good gracious, it’s LIGHTS OUT THEATRE COMPANY for the Messiah’s sake, what a freakin’ honor.  Initially I was worried that my schedule might come into conflict, but thankfully things were able to get worked out.

Slowly but surely I’ve been building myself into the character…I always thought that I’d be a method actor, but I never imagined it would be like this.  In my future roles I probably should not be allowed (by law) to play flesh-eating, night-walking creatures, if not just for the safety and sanity of folks living in the Chicagoland area.  Lincoln Park women ESPECIALLY do not seem to appreciate being jumped at 3 in the morning by a man wearing white-face and a cap

e, hissing weirdly and screaming that he’s going to “zzzuck their bloooood!”

But seriously though, it has been a lot of fun/an honor to work with Lights Out Theatre Company on “Moosehumps”.  Even via my relatively minimal role, I feel like I’ve learned so much.  (I suppose that might sound clichéd, but trust me, it’s true.)  Everyone involved is so wonderful, HILARIOUS, and kind.  “Moosehumps” is an impressively well-written Halloween treat; personally I think it could/should turn into a holiday tradition, i.e. “The Great Pumpkin” or “The Monster Mash” or “Girls Dressing in Tight Leather Costumes Wearing Sex Leashes”.

Hopefully I’ve been able to be a positive addition to the “Moosehumps” team, and hopefully I’ll one day work with the ol’ Lights Out Theatre Company gang again.  (If you’re in Chicago and into theatre, you honestly need to check them out.)  Friday’s going to be so much fun and I hope that you and all of your little buddies can come join us.

One thing I’ve learned about myself via this show?

That choreographed dancing is FUN AS HELL.

See you Friday.

Boohoo.

-joe dickinson

aka

sad dracula

www.joedickinson.com

Leave a Reply

